Pattern cutting my skirt block

I used this pattern to make a tailored high waisted skirt block. I used my own measurements and applied them to the pattern below, I then drew my pattern with my measurements on to pattern paper.

When I was drawing the darts on my pattern paper, instead of marking the dart 1cm either side of the dashed line, I did 2cm on one side of the dashed line and I corrected this in red pen.

After this I labelled my patterns and then cut out the pattern so I had two separate pieces one for the back and one for the front.

I made my skirt out of calico, it is similar to a design toile which is a pattern cut out of the right weight of fabric (usually calico). It is made to check the fit and shape before being cut out of your actual fabric.

I then pinned the pattern to the fabric, drew around the pattern and then added my seam allowance as the pattern does not include it. I cut out two back pieces and the folded the calico to create a fold, I then pinned the front pattern piece to it as the front pattern piece is cut on the fold, I then added my seam allowance and then cut it out ready for construction.

Seam allowance is the area between the edge of the fabric and the stitching line. Seam allowance allows you to make seams, the seam allowance can vary depending on the fabric but I usually use 1cm – 1.5cm. No seam allowance is required on a fold line.

Leave a Comment