Pattern cutting my close fitting bodice block

I used this pattern to make a close fitting bodice block. I used my own measurements and applied them to the pattern below, I then drew my pattern with my measurements on to pattern paper. I found trying to change the measurements to my own personal measurements a bit tricky as the instructions were more complex.

I have also learnt some key words that are essential in the pattern and garment making process. I found out that the nape to waist measurement is taken from the prominent bone at the back of your neck to the waist. I also learnt about how to measure the armscye depth, this measurement is used to determine the depth of your garments armhole.

After this I drew on some extra darts onto the pattern paper so my bodice would be fitted at the waist. I then labelled my pattern before cutting it out, so I now have 2 separate pattern pieces.

Once I had cut out my pattern pieces, I then pinned my pattern onto the calico, I drew around my template and then drew on my seam allowance, as the pattern does not include seam allowance. I then cut out the pattern pieces my front pattern piece is cut on the fold and then I cut out 2 back pattern pieces.


My pattern pieces are now ready for construction.

Leave a Comment