Constructing my tailored trouser block

I started constructing my tailored trouser block by sewing all the darts on each panel. I then pinned the front trouser panel to the back trouser panel I repeated this for the second leg and then sewed them together so that I had two trousers legs.

After that I folded it in half with the nice side in the middle and then sewed on the red line before repeating to create the other trouser leg.

I then placed one trouser leg inside the other trouser leg.

I then sewed on the red line to join the trousers before turning them the right way around. After this I started drawing the waistband onto the calico and then I cut it out and lay it on the trousers before pinning it to the top of the trousers and then sewing it in place.

I then folded it over and ironed inflate before pinning ready to sew, I then sewed my invisible zip into the back of the trousers. Once I had sewed the waistband I realised that I forgot to line up the top of the invisible zip with the top of the waistband. Next time I need to ensure that they are lined up before I sew the zip in place.

After this I sewed the last section of my trousers before rolling up the bottom of my trousers as they were slightly too long. I tried them on after I had finished and they were a bit too big at the waist and slightly too long in the leg.

Overall, I am very pleased with the final result of my trouser block.

Leave a Comment