Manipulating and eliminating darts

Once I had made my basic bodice block, I decided to explore manipulating and eliminating darts on mini bodice block templates. Creating mini bodice block patterns to trail this on uses less paper and therefore creates less waste whilst allowing me to experiment with manipulating and eliminating darts.
Manipulating and eliminating darts allow you to move and change the darts to different points on the bodice or to fit in with the design so they are less noticeable and more natural.

You can also move your dart 1 cm in from the point so the dart has a more natural finish rather than finishing at a sharp point,

The first method I used in order to manipulate and eliminate darts is pivoting.

Sample 1 …

I then tried another method of manipulating and eliminating darts where you make cuts in the template.

Sample 2 …

Sample 3 …

Sample 4 …

This bodice template incorporates the darts into the design therefore they are less obvious and more natural.

Leave a Comment