Manipulating my sleeve block

Once I had made my basic sleeve block, I decided to try to make mini templates for different types of sleeve block. Creating mini sleeve blocks uses less paper and therefore creates less waste whilst allowing me to experiment with manipulating sleeve blocks.

I cut out a mini template and then traced 3 patterns onto pattern paper before cutting and creating different shapes from there. I used a pattern cutting book for reference so that I could look at the diagrams to see what manipulated sleeves there are, what they look like and how to pattern cut different styles of sleeve block.

The first mini sleeve block that I created was a sleeve that was slightly flared from the elbow.

The next sleeve block that I created was a sleeve with a flared section.

The last sleeve block that I created was a sleeve with a mock cuff.

Leave a Comment