Lino Cutting

Lino printing/cutting is a technique to create prints, where you cut your design using lino cutting tools into linoleum. You can then use this printing block to create a variety of different prints and patterns.

I started by creating a mushroom Lino block inspired by photos I had taken for my primary research. I started by drawing my design onto a piece of tracing paper before transferring it onto my piece of Lino, I then used a Lino cutting tool to remove the sections that I didn’t want to print. Once I had removed those sections, I was left with a slightly raised pattern.

I used a bit of red and white ink to create an ombre.

I then decided to make another block which I could layer upon my other block.

I then created a few more prints on paper and fabric before creating a layered print using both blocks.

I then printed a layered print using both blocks on fabric and also onto some black card.

As I have done Lino printing previously at GCSE, I already new the technique of Lino cutting so I did not find this very difficult to do. I am very pleased with the final mushroom prints using my mushroom printing blocks.

Leave a Comment