Monoprinting

Monoprinting is a printmaking/mark making process that is created by a variety of different lines and shapes. Monoprinting is usually done when you place a piece of paper on a very thin layer of ink, you then make your marks or draw your design on top of the piece of paper using a pencil or pen or another mark making tool to create this. Then place on the piece of paper where you apply pressure this will print. Then you just lift the piece of paper to see the printed design.

I decided to create a leaf monoprint using a image I found on the internet, which I then printed it so that I could use it as a guide to create a more detailed print.

This first monoprint did not turn out how I wanted, but now I know what did not go so well I can try and improve next time. Next time I will use very little ink and spread it out thinly so it is almost dry. As there are many lines on this pattern and there was too much ink, on sections of the leaf there are large spots of black ink so you cannot see the detail.

Leave a Comment