Image transfer

Image transfer is the process of transferring an image onto a different medium, such as tape or fabric.

I started by printing off a few images I wanted to transfer using both the masking tape and sellotape method. This is where you put tape over the whole image and ensure that all of the pieces of tape overlap slightly. This helps your tape transfer be a bit stronger and less likely to fall apart once you have rubbed away the paper.

Next you slightly dampen with water the back of your image, the side which has no tape on it. You then lightly rub away the paper with your finger tip, you have to be careful otherwise you will rub away not only the paper but also your transfer.

The first few times I tried image transfer using masking tape and sellotape it did not work and I could not work this was the case. I thought was it the type of tape, how much water I put on the paper or was it because the ink was dry as I had printed the image out a few hours before.

On the 3rd time I trailed with submerging the image in water for a few minutes and this also did not work.

So after three failed attempts, I decided to create my 4th image transfer using masking tape and this time I printed my image onto glossy paper to see if that would work any better. This time it was successful and actually worked well. This lead me to come to the conclusion that it was the type of paper you use, I used normal white a4 paper to print it out but it seemingly only works when you print your image onto glossy paper.

I then created a sellotape image transfer using glossy paper and this also worked.

The final transfer I created was onto fabric, I transferred my images using glossy paper, this glossy glue (pictured below) and calico.

For this you just coat the front of your image with this glossy glue before turning the image over and placing it onto your piece of calico you can then use a roller to make sure the image is stuck flat onto the calico. Then you leave it to dry I left mine to dry for about a day to ensure it’s fully dry and the image will actually transfer.

Then once it has dried you slightly dampen with water the back of your image. You then lightly rub away the paper with your finger tip, you have to be careful otherwise you with rub away not only the paper but also your transfer.

The transfer onto fabric is not like using heat transfer dyes to create patterns on the fabric because the heat from the sublimation printer causes the dye to set in the fabric and therefore you cannot remove it or rub it away. However, when you transfer an image onto fabric using this particular process where you use glossy paper and glossy glue the image is not set in the fabric so you can still easily rub it off. Also you can’t completely rub off all the paper to reveal the transfer as you will then start rubbing the transfer of as well.

I think these three methods of image transfer are quite effective, quick and easy. My favourite transfer was onto fabric as it nice that you can use your own photos from your own primary research and include them in your work.

Leave a Comment