Creating a Hand Rendered Repeat Pattern

I started creating my hand rendered repeat pattern by drawing an autumnal design onto an a4 white piece of paper, I ensured that none of my drawing touched the edges of the paper.

I the cut my piece of paper on the vertical red line.

I then put the left hand half the other side of the right hand piece so I could stick the to outer edges together. I used sellotape to join the two sections together on the back of the piece of paper so it cannot be seen.

I then cut the piece of paper in half horizontally shown by the red line.

I then placed the top half under the piece of paper below, I then used sellotape to join the two half’s together I stuck the tape on the back.

I then drew some mushrooms in the blank centre of the piece of paper still ensuring that none of my design touched the edge of the paper.

I then photocopied this 4 times so I could then create my repeating pattern and join all 4 pieces of paper using sellotape.

Here is my hand rendered repeating pattern.

I am pleased with the final outcome of my repeating pattern, I think the process is very easy and extremely effective. However, drawing your design is the thing that takes the longest in this process.

Leave a Comment