Creating Dyed Shibori Samples

This particular type of shibori uses thread to create gathers, folds and twists in the fabric before soaking it in a dye bath to create a pattern or design. You can also sew a particular shape or design in to your fabric that should create a design on the fabric once it has been dyed.

To create my first shibori sample, I just cut a long strip of calico and then hand sewed lines of straight stitch I then pulled the thread tight so it would gather together.

For my second shibori sample, I sewed circles on the calico before pulling them tight to gather the fabric and then knotting it.

I then placed both my samples into a red dye bath to soak. I left both samples to soak for about 2 hours. I then took them out of the dye and I then cut the embroidery thread and pulled it out to see if I had created a pattern.

My first dyed shibori sample has sort of worked on the bottom half of the sample, this is where it was more tightly gathered together.

My second sample did not work very well at all because the circles are not clear and there is not a clear circle where the thread was. I left a little bit of the thread in on two of the circles to show where I had sewn but also to show that the white thread has now been dyed red.

These are photos of the samples now they are fully dry.

I believe the reason that this method of shibori is not as effective as similar dyeing methods, such as tie-dye is because if you sew with thread or if you use string, the dye will absorb into it as well as the fabric. Where as with tie-dyeing you mainly use elastic bands which will not take on or absorb any of the dye. So therefore you get more of a defined shape or pattern.

This method is very quick and easy but I think I need to experiment further using this method to see if I could achieve more effective results. One idea I had to try and achieve this was if you coated your embroidery thread in wax before sewing your design, whether the dye would not absorb and subsequently achieve a defined shape. I also thought that with the combination of closer stitches and wax coated embroidery thread the results will be better.

Leave a Comment