Creating a Abstract Geometric Motif using Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop

I started by using Adobe Illustrator to create the geometric shapes that I will then place onto my image in Photoshop.

I then used the ellipse tool to create a circle, I then right clicked to bring up the menu shown in the photo below. I then inserted into both width and height 500 px.

Then using the same ellipse tool to create another circle but this time I inserted 250 px into the menu. This circle is half the size of the last circle.

After this, I then selected the circle and aligned it to the top of the first circle. I then duplicated that circle and aligned this circle with the bottom of larger circle, I could tell when it was aligned properly because the two small circles met perfectly in the middle.

I then did the same process with two more circles but horizontally across the centre of the larger circle.

Next I selected the polygon tool on the left hand side menu, once I had right clicked a menu came up and I inserted into radius 250 px and then into sides, I put 3 in order to create a triangle. Then I put the triangle into the larger circle making sure it was perfectly aligned. I then duplicated the triangle before rotating it 180 degrees so it is then upside down. After this, I then placed it into the larger circle making sure that it was aligned.

Now I have finished creating these geometric shapes, I then grouped all the shapes together, so they no longer move as individual shapes.

I then opened Adobe Photoshop and inserted my image, the image that I used I found on Pinterest.

I then inserted my geometric shapes from Adobe Illustrator into Adobe Photoshop, I then inverted it so the lines would turn from black to white. Next I moved my geometric shapes to were I wanted on my image.

Then using the Magic Wand Tool, I clicked a section of my geometric shape, then a dashed line appeared around that segment. Next I moved the selected area somewhere else in the image, then I changed my layer to the background/image layer, I then copy and pasted the new segment. Now I can click that area and move the section to the original segment. I then adjusted it slightly to make sure it is within the white lines.

Once I had changed the sections in the top half of my geometric shapes using the method I explained above. I decided to reflect the top half selections into the bottom half. I did this by copy and pasting a section from the top and then flipping it so I could put it in the bottom half of the geometric shapes.

This is my final abstract geometric motif.

I am very happy with my final images as it looks very interesting. I found that it took a little while to create this first image, as I have not used Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop much before I did not know how to find and use all the tools. I am now pretty confident in using these tools and think if I created something similar to this in the future it would not take me as long.

Leave a Comment