9 Head Croquis

A 9 head croquis is figure template created by using heads to create the height of the model and then uses the height to draw the figure with accurate proportions.

I watched and followed a step by step tutorial to create my first two 9 head croquis on YouTube called ‘How to draw the fashion figure for beginners – 9 heads tutorial’ by Zyra Bañez.

This is my first 9 head croquis I created, with each line being 1 inch apart. This croquis is not very curved and created using straight lines.

For my second 9 head croquis I decided to create another croquis that is exactly the same as the first one but on this one I used a black biro to go over the pencil lines to create a more curve and natural looking figure.

I then got two images from a magazine and stuck them onto my piece of paper before dividing it up using the 9 head method. For both of my magazine models, the first line started at the very top of the models head and the 2 line started at the bottom of the models head, I then measured the distance between the first and second line and I then used the measurements to divide the rest of the model up. Next I used the same method in the video to create the croquis below.

Some of the models that you see pictured in magazines can be more heads due to two factors models are usually very tall, but also mainly due to the photos being edited.

For this models croquis I had to slightly adjust where the knees and ankles were to match the model. The croquis might not be entirely accurate due to the fact the model is posing and not standing up straight and also the model is wearing boots.

This model is 8 heads tall.

For this models croquis I also had to slightly adjust were the knees and ankles were to match the model. The croquis might not be entirely accurate due to the fact the model is wearing heels.

This model is 8 heads tall.

I really like the 9 head croquis method as it is quite easy to do and also is a good way to ensure that your croquis template has accurate proportions.

Bibliography

How to draw the fashion figure for beginners – 9 heads tutorial

(YouTube – Zyra Bañez)

Link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=0gpbtwUI7to

Leave a Comment