My embroidery into a Fashion illustration inspired by the work of Maurizio Anzeri

I started by finding an old fashion illustration, which I can print off to then embroider into.

This is the vogue cover from the 1909, December 11th issue, which I decided to use for my second embroidered illustration.

SOURCE : https://archive.vogue.com/issue/19091211

Prior to creating my embroidery into an old illustration, I decided to look at the key features of Maurizio Anzeri’s work to help me with my piece created in a similar style to Maurizio. Here’s a link to my research blog Maurizio Anzeri Research.

I was planning to embroider into several old photos in the style of Maurizio Anzeri, however the one I did below took a little while to complete so I decided to stick with just the one embroidery into imagery.

Below is a few step by step images of how I created my piece.

Here is my final embroidery into imagrey inspired by the work of Marizio Anzeri.

To create it in a similar style I decided to focus on the key features of Marizio Anzeri work. So I used an old illustration and 5 green embroidery threads all with slightly different tones. I also focused on a key feature of the illustration, which I decided to be the ballerinas tutu skirt and embroidery into that.

I am very pleased with the final outcome of my embroidery into an illustration, the only downside to this particular type of illustration is that hand embroidery is very time consuming.

Bibliography

Vogue Archive

Link : https://archive.vogue.com

Leave a Comment