My fashion illustrations inspired by the work of Kareem Iliya

For my next 6 illustrations in the style of both Kareem Iliya and David Downtown. I have chosen 3 images, shown below to base all of my illustrations on. I thought it would be really interesting to see what different outcomes you can get by using different styles of illustrations.

This is a Vogue cover.

SOURCE : https://www.streeters.com/news/british-vogue-november-2018-cover-story?epik=dj0yJnU9UEYzUGN0NWNveU9zS09TYkJfM3BiWHdScHotSEFQRW4mcD0wJm49SV9BZVlJVXBXWU5ibXIxMmJyNXRodyZ0PUFBQUFBR0FOV2ZV

This is an image of Dua Lipa in the February issue of the British Vogue Magazine.

This is an image of a Giorgio Armani model in the December issue of the British Vogue Magazine.

Prior to creating my fashion illustration, I decided to look at the key features of Kareem Iliya work to help me with my piece created in a similar style to Kareem. I created a post about this called Kareem Iliya Research.

I started by creating a outline of the three different garments and models onto three separate pieces of Plain A4 paper.

For my first illustration inspired by the work of Kareem Iliya, I decided to create a black silhouette using a black watercolour pencil. Once I had created my pencil silhouette, I then got a paint brush and a bit of water to activate the watercolour pencil, this is then very similar to watercolour paint.

Once my silhouette had dried, I then got a purple watercolour pencil to create a purple background around my silhouette.

For my next illustration I took inspiration from a particular piece of Kareem’s work, which is a silhouette filled with different coloured inks, that have all dispersed and mixed. As I don’t have any inks, I have used watercolour pencils to create something that is sort of similar, However if I created it using ink, I believe that it would have been more a effective illustration.

To create my illustration in a sort of similar style to Kareem’s piece, I chose 5 different watercolour pencils, which I then used to fill in the silhouette.

I then used the paint brush and water to try and blend the colours together.

For my last illustration, I created a blue silhouette using a blue watercolour pencil. Once I had finished creating my pencil silhouette, I then left it to dry before adding my background.

I created my background using a black watercolour pencil, I wanted the background to really highlight the silhouette of the garment and model.

I really like this style of illustration, which highlights the silhouette of the garment rather that all the detail on the garment.

I am happy with the illustrations I have created. In the future if I get the opportunity to explore creating illustrations using inks, I think that it would create really effective and nice illustrations.

Leave a Comment