Sewing my pattern pieces together that are inspired by the Pattern Magic designs

I started by gathering everything I needed to construct my pattern magic designs.

I created all of my pattern magic designs using the fabric calico. However, you could create theses designs in any fabric of your choice.

I started by drawing round all my patterns and then adding one and a half centimetres of seam allowance to the sections on the patterns that needed it. After I used my dressmaking scissors to cut all the patterns out.

This is my first one cube pattern magic design cut out of fabric.

This is my second one cube pattern magic design cut out of fabric.

This is my two cube pattern magic design cut out of fabric.

This is my three triangles pattern magic design cut out of fabric.

This is my two layers cubes pattern magic design cut out of fabric.

This is my two layered triangles pattern magic design cut out of fabric.

I found that cutting these pattern pieces out of fabric, it created a lot of fabric waste due to the unusual shaped pattern pieces. However, I keep all scrap pieces of fabric to use later on, I mainly use scraps like these as sewing machine testers to help choose a type of stitch or to check the tension on the bobbin is correct.

I decided to iron crease in the fabric where all the edges and folds were, to try and achieve clear defined 3-D shapes.

For my first three designs which are the more simple designs I was easily able to tell were the folds and creases were meant to be. However, for the 3 last more complex designs I had to draw a light pencil line to know where to iron the crease into the fabric. Before, I did this I trialed ironing creases with no line for these designs and it did not work as the creases were not in the right places.

These are the lines I drew on my fabric pattern pieces for my last three designs before I ironed them.

After I had finished sewing my all my pattern magic designs I cut the seam allowance on each design using pinking shears.

This is my first constructed pattern magic design with one cube.

This is my second constructed pattern magic design with one cube.

For my next pattern magic design with two cubes, on one of the cubes I accidentally cut two far into the seam allowance, causing a hole in the corner of the cube. I amended this by hand sewing the corner up.

I have now learnt from this, to only slightly cut into the seam allowance to begin with as I can cut further in later on if I needed to relive more of the tension in the fabric.

I found that my forth design, which as 3 triangles and 4 pattern pieces the most difficult and complicated pattern to sew and construct.

My first attempt did not turn out very well and I could not figure out for a little while what had gone wrong.

I realised I had to sew a side (shown by the red line) on all three triangles before sewing the separate pattern pieces together, as this seam and side was missing on my first attempt.

This is how my second attempt turned out and I am very happy with the outcome and that I had managed to identify and resolve the previous issue.

This is my fifth constructed pattern magic design with two layered cubes. I then pushed the small cube inside of the larger cube once I had finished sewing.

This is my last constructed pattern magic design with two layered triangles. I then pushed the small triangle inside of the larger triangle once I had finished sewing.

One thought I had whist creating all of these pattern pieces was whether you could use fabric interfacing to strengthen the fabric and give you more of a defined 3-D shape. As the creases I ironed in the fabric before sewing the designs, completely disappeared not long after, leaving more of a curved edge cube shape.

I found sewing all the designs with only one pattern piece, so much easier and straight forward to do, than those with multiple pattern pieces. I think I found this because for the singular cube in the middle and the layers cube and the triangle as almost all of the sides and seams to be sewn were very similar and I did not have to cut not the seam allowance and reposition the fabric as much.

I am pleased with my first attempt at pattern magic designs. In the future, I would love to explore this type of design further with incorporating it with in the design of a garment, maybe trailing using interfacing and also using different coloured and patterned fabrics.

I decided to pin my samples onto my mannequin to try and help me envision where they could go on a garment and be most effective.

Leave a Comment