Ice dyeing colour test on fabric

I previously created a fabric sample using Ice Dyeing, I wrote about it in a post called Ice Dyeing.

I found that as you have to place the powered ice on top of the ice and you do not dilute them it’s hard to tell what colour they are or going to be once on the fabric.

So I thought it maybe be a good idea to create and ice dye test on fabric, using the powdered dye that I might like to use.

This will allow me to choose dyes that are the right colours to suit my project.

I started by drawing 12 squares in biro on a large square of calico.

I then placed some paper towels onto the table to place my fabric on top of.

I then also collected my ice cubes and gloves.

Next I dampened my piece of fabric under the tap.

I laid my piece of fabric as flat as possible on the paper towels.

I then placed all of the ice cubes within the individual squares. Now it’s ready for the powdered dyes to be added on top of the ice cubes.

I sprinkled the powdered dyes on to the ice cubes and then recorded what the name of the dye was, so I knew what dye it is. This allowed me to label it once it was fully dry.

I also combined several different powders to see how they would mix.

This is a close up photo of one of the squares using two powdered dyes named Peach and Tulip Red.

This is how the tester looked as the ice began to melt.

After the Ice was fully melted the tester was transferred to the drying rack as the sample was sat in a pool of dye and therefore would not have dried.

This is what the paper towels looked like underneath the sample.

Then two separate pieces of calico was placed on the paper towels and a roller was used to gather up some of the excess dye.

This is my finished pieces of fabric that was used to gather the extra excess dye off of the table.

This is the final finished ice dye tester with the powdered dyes. I also added the name of the powdered dyes I used in black pen above each square.

The sample below is the same as the sample above I just added clearer digital labels so that I can refer back to it later.

I am very happy with the Ice dyeing tester I have made, I can now use this to give me a good idea of what are the most suitable colours and powders to use.

Leave a Comment