Initial Design Ideas and a Vote

To create my initial design ideas I used the highlighter and biro method, which I learned about and experimented in Fashion Illustrations – Method 2, Series 2.

This method is really useful as it allow you to create a rough drawing in only a few minutes.

One thing that I particularly struggle with in creating design ideas is drawing arms, legs and feet. They did not turn out that well in the design below but I only drew them in a few minutes and when I create my final design ideas I will take a lot longer in drawing the designs so hopefully they should look better.

The first design shows a one cube pattern magic bodice block, with french knots and a short bubble/balloon skirt with Suffolk puffs all over the skirt.


The second design shows a one cube pattern magic bodice block and a medium to long bubble/balloon skirt.

The third design shows a one cube pattern magic bodice block, with french knots and a medium to long bubble/balloon skirt with Suffolk puffs all over the skirt.

The fourth design shows a one cube pattern magic bodice block, with french knots and a skirt with Suffolk puffs all over the skirt.

The last design shows a one cube pattern magic bodice block, with french knots and trousers with a zip and button at the front, rolled hems at the bottom of the trousers with Suffolk puffs all over the trousers.


I then created a digital tally chart so I could get my family members to vote, I used the data collection method of a tally chart as it is a very quick method to collect instant data rather than using survey, I was only able to get my three family members to vote due to Covid and online lessons, however this allowed me to move on to creating final design drawings straight away.

The results were two votes for the 3rd drawing and one vote for the last drawing. I then used these results as my final decision for what design I am going to go with so I am going to create design number 3.

Bibliography

London College of Fashion, 2021. How to Draw Fashion Templates No.2: Drawing with a Marker. Available at: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=d4OS1mOYjrE&feature=emb_title > [Accessed 15 March 2021].

Leave a Comment