Texture crayon rubbings – Primary Research

Below are some crayon texture rubbings that I made to see if I could achieve a similar texture to the surface mars, I can then use these texture rubbings as inspiration.

I have chosen 4 crayons that I think are most similar to the colour of mars.

I used plain white A5 pieces of paper for my texture rubbing as I don’t think you need a full A4 page for it.

The first texture rubbing I made was of the patio slabs we have in our garden, I chose to do each rubbing with only one colour of crayon instead of using more than one together.

The next texture rubbing I did was of bricks.

This texture rubbing is of my giant pencil pot thimble.

The texture rubbing below was made using bubble wrap, the first rubbing I made of the bubble wrap I used a light orange and you could not really see the markings it made as it was so light. So I made a second rubbing using a darker red crayon and it was a lot easier to see the finished texture rubbing.

The next texture rubbing I made was of foil which I had crumpled before laying my piece of paper on top.

The very last texture rubbing I made was just of the pavement and it created a really lovely speckled effect and it also sort of reminded my of the stars in the sky at night.

I am happy with all the different texture rubbings I have made.

Leave a Comment