My Midpoint Evaluation

At the start of my FMP, I focused on initial research and possible idea around the theme of data, this included Mindmap’s, Moodboards, artist research and some secondary research. I used all my initial research that I did to help me form and finalise my project proposal.

So far I have completed quite a few primary, secondary and artist research post as well as doing experimenting with a variety of dyeing and textile techniques. I also have created initial and final design ideas and gone on to make a pattern magic bodice block pattern and make a practice toile for both the bodice block and the skirt.

The next steps for my FMP and the last 4 week of practical is to make my garments for my final piece, I am making Pattern Magic bodice and bubble/balloon skirt. After I have made my final piece I need to take photos of the finished garment.

I am definitely still following and on track with my action plan and I can amend it if need to as I go along. Each week I also recorded were I am at and what the plan is for the week ahead in an ongoing reflective journal.

Several issues have occurred throughout the experimentation process, the main problems that have occurred so far was when I was making my toile’s for my pattern magic bodice and my bubble/balloon skirt.

I found making these toile’s a very valuable experience as now I have made those mistakes and overcome the issues I can plan and slightly change the process to avoid them in my final garments.

There are several theoretical issues that I have for seen within my experimentation so far the main issue that I can for see is for the making of my final pattern magic bodice block garment as I have chosen to make it out of a black jersey fabric that is stretchy, I can see the possibility of this being a bit tricky to sew. So, once I have cut my pattern out off the fabric and I can see what fabric I have spare I will create a tester sewing using the leftover fabric before beginning to sew my final garment.

Overall, I am really happy with the point I am at in my FMP with half the project left. I have a clear understanding and plan of what I need to do for the last 4/5 weeks of my FMP.

Leave a Comment